Bengaluru City is the capital of the State of Karnataka. Founded in the 16th century, this City was ruled by the great dynasties of Kadambas, Hoysalas and Vijayanagar Kings.

According to a legend, the city was named Bengaluru or Benda Kaaluru (the city of boiled beans) after a last Hoysala King was offered a humble dish of "Boiled beans" by an old lady in the 10th century. The city of boiled beans was formerly founded by Kempe Gowda in the 16th century.

Bengaluru city spans over an area of 800 Sqkms and a Population of over 1 crore. Bengaluru is also called "Garden City", "India's Silicon Valley", "Fashion Capital of India" and of late the "Floriculture Capital" due to the present boost of the flower export business, "Science Capital of the Country" and "Information Technology Capital of India".

Bengaluru is fifth largest city in India and is said to be the fastest growing city in Asia. Bengaluru City is well connected by air, rail and road transport to all the major cities in India.

The city police is responsible for the overall policing in the city and has been providing excellent service with well-established community participation in crime prevention, maintenance of law and order and traffic management.

The city police has a network of beats manned by foot patrol and vehicle patrol during day and night. These are backed by special mobile patrol units called the Hoysala, traffic patrol and a number of armed striking force mobile units stationed in strategic areas.

The jurisdiction of the City Police has been divided into 8 zones - East, West, South, North, Central, South East, North East and Whitefield. Each zone is headed by an Officer of the rank of Deputy Commissioner of Police. Each zone is sub-divided into sub-divisions headed by Assistant Commissioners of Police which are further divided into Police Stations under the charge of an Officer of the rank of Police Inspector.

Assistant Commissioners of Police are the first line supervisory officers who supervise the working of the Police stations in their jurisdictions and report to their respective Deputy Commissioners of Police.